top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Embrace the wrinkles and sagginess???


Bleh! What the hell is that? Oh my! It’s me…raw! It looks like a road map for a cosmetic surgeon about to go in. But this is me. This is what I look like now without any help. I don’t like what I see in the mirror a lot of the time. But that is what make-up and hair dye is for! There are some things that make-up doesn’t help with though. Is there a way we can embrace these things and accept them into our lives? Let’s see!


There is not much I can do about those lines on my forehead and the H above my nose…unless, I get botox or some sort of surgery which I may at some point. It’s the same with the bags under my eyes. What’s a busy, tired girl to do? I have a number of sunspots and age marks on my face as well. And the whole lower portion of my face? Yuck…so saggy! I won’t even get into what else is sagging on my body! And the zit….WTH??? Shouldn’t I be done with those by now. My face cleanser is anti-acne/anti-wrinkle. Isn’t that some sort of oxymoron? Aren’t we supposed to be done with pimple’s by now?


Now, I’m not in denial. I know what I look like and I just thank goodness I’m already married! He’s stuck with me now! Hahahahahahaha! I felt when I was younger that I was an attractive woman. I don’t feel that I have aged well. Those forehead wrinkles are heredity. My father, brother and sister all have the same lines. I’m sure I didn’t do much to discourage them. My love of the sun is also a huge factor in the fact that I haven’t aged all that well. But this is me! I make no apologies! Do you get the song reference???


But for right now, this is how I look. I try not to leave the house looking like this. Especially the gray roots! I have skipped make up the last few years but I know it’s still there whenever I want it. We have lived a lot of life. That leaves some marks. It’s like any other scars we have on our body. They may not tell a specific story but they sure do tell a story. The most important one…the story of your life. So, embrace that face in the mirror. You don’t have to love it. You can change it. You can cover it. But be proud of it. Your face tells your story. And what better story is there than that?


It’s “I wish it were cocktail Friday”, Thursday. It’s almost the weekend and it’s going to be a great one. It’s the second to last weekend of unofficial summer. Take advantage! And be proud of the face that looks back at you in the mirror every day. Now, go make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page