top of page
  • Writer's pictureWendy McClure

Fearlessness – behaviors to adopt


When I got my first full time job I moved about an hour from my hometown and it was the first time I was living on my own. My friend Lesley went to the dollar store and bought me a laundry basket and filled it with all kinds of things you need for your first apartment. Measuring cups, spoons, dustpan, utensil sorter, all that sort of stuff. It was so awesome and I truly appreciated it. She enclosed a note that I left up on my t-v stand for a very long time saying how brave I was to move so far away from home and how proud she was of me. I didn’t actually consider what I was doing as brave. I got a job in morning radio which was my dream so I had to go where I could do that. There was no question in my mind about whether what I was doing was brave….I was just doing what I needed to do. But her words meant a lot to me.


They say that you have to get out of your comfort zone in order to achieve greatness. Man, did I hate that. I liked being comfortable. I worked really hard my whole life, paid a lot of dues and felt I was entitled to sit back and enjoy life. You know, coast a little bit. I always wanted more but I wasn’t willing to work hard enough to make it happen or more likely; get over my fear of failure and rejection to get where I truly wanted to be.


But you only have one life. Do you want to spend it wishing you would have done more if you weren’t afraid? There can be a lot at stake to change career paths or start a business of your own. You have to be smart about it. Come up with a plan. Work out the steps you need to take and get going. Is it scary? Heck yeah! Will you fail? Maybe. Maybe not. Just maybe…this is what you were born to do. I am sure that there will be failures along the way. No matter what you are doing there will be mistakes along the way. There will be times when everything goes wrong. But the great thing about that is you learn. Learn from your mistakes. So you know what works and what doesn’t. It’s a learning process. You have to suck first in order to get better. That’s just the way it is. So plan to fail. Not totally…but expect things to go wrong and don’t panic when they do. Adjust and things will be okay.

Here is the most important thing when making a major decision about where you want your life to go. You have to believe you can do it. Truly believe it deep down inside and know that you are willing to do whatever it takes to get you where you want to go.


Here’s the thing about fear…once you face it, it loses its power over you. People who succeed don’t do it because they aren’t scared. They succeed because they are scared and they do it anyway. Like the story I started out with. It really didn’t occur to me that I was being brave. I was just doing what I needed to do in order to get what I wanted…a career in radio. But after she wrote those words to me I thought….wow, I guess I am brave. And now I know that when I get scared I just have to work through it. Take away its power. Make your goal more important than your fear and you may not even realize you are no longer afraid.


And here’s another important thing. My life is so much happier and exciting than when I was just coasting and being comfortable. So get out of that comfort zone and shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you may fall among the stars! I’m going to say it again, If I can do it so can you. I never imagined doing what I’m doing now. It’s so much more than I ever thought possible and I’m loving every minute of it!


It’s hump day! Make sure to check out my website which will be up and running in the next few days. Hopefulist.com. Now, go make it your best day yet! Talk to you tomorrow!


Listen to me discuss this topic on today’s podcast of “The Hopefulist”. Available on Apple, YouTube, Spotify, TuneIn and Stitcher!


I’m going to be moving my blogs to my website….www.Hopefulist.com soon. So please visit me there and you can subscribe from that page. My website will be a one stop spot for everything you need for your daily dose of inspiration and positivity. Blogs, podcasts, information about me and what I do. My new email address is thehopefulist1@gmail.com.


Listen to my 7AM podcast for your Daily Dose of Inspiration and Positivity. Follow me on Facebook and Instagram for tomorrow's topics and where you can chime in too!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page