top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Find JOY everyday!


This is a picture of some of my favorite things. Just some small things that bring me joy every day. I had made a post on Facebook a few years back saying this very thing. Do something that brings you joy every day. I got quite a bit of backlash for this with people saying things like who has the time to find joyful things every day? I thought, maybe it’s your definition of joy that needs a little refining.


Joy isn’t about having the perfect day doing exactly what you want or that amazing vacation you’ve been saving all year for. That’s part of it but not all of it. Not even most of it in my opinion. We can, should and must find things we find joy in every single day. We also need to stop taking for granted all the things we find joy in but now take for granted.


For example, did you decorate your own house? When you first moved in didn’t you just love how everything turned out? Didn’t you look around your newly decorated home and think how much you love it and how happy you will be here? When is the last time you did that? We all tend to take things for granted. It’s human nature. But reminding ourselves to revel in these things that have become part of our every day life is one way to bring the joy back.


That is why I took a picture of all the little things I love that are part of my daily life. I love the scented soaps from Bath and Body. I used to think they were too expensive and wouldn’t spring for them but I wait for sales now and stock up. I rarely pay more than three dollars a piece for them. Still more than soft soap which you can get for a dollar, but I feel the extra cost is worth it. I started using these body scrubs everyday recently. I love the smell of them and how they make my skin soft and dewy. I also included my favorite scented candle from Yankee candle. I refused to spend the money on these candles for many years. But I got this sun and sand scent as a gift and I love it. Now, I also try to find a sale for these babies as well. When shopping at Kohl’s and I get Kohl’s cash, I go back and get a candle or two from their collection. They don’t have all the scents you get at the candle store but I’m pretty sure you can find something you like. And the bag in the picture is just a tote bag that I often use to take on boat rides with me. It was a gift from some friends and I just love it.


Another thing I love is freshly painted nails done at the salon. They look so much better when they are done professionally. I get at least two days of joy from looking at how nice and shiny they look before they start to chip and look weathered. I let my nails grow naturally so the polish starts to wear after a few days. If you do the gel manicure you will get a lot more out of it. The good news for me is a polish change at the salon is fairly inexpensive. I can get them done for 5 or 6 bucks plus a tip. It’s not a lot of money that brings me joy for a couple of days.


Like I said, try to rediscover some of the things that were joyful at first but now you take for granted. Spend a little money to surround yourself with some of your favorite things as much as you can. Look for sales. It can be done on a shoestring budget.


It’s Monday! My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday! It’s a brand-new week full of possibility. Now go and find your joy. And make it your best day yet.


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page