top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Get those priorities straight!


I had gotten together with some of the neighborhood ladies for a little pickleball yesterday which usually entails more talking than playing. They were discussing some of the parties coming up and how November and December are always so busy. I thought to myself, indeed. And as much as I would love to indulge in every party, gathering and family event that will not likely work. So, I must choose. I have to figure out which events are the most important for me to attend and which ones I can tolerate missing out on.


Whip out that calendar right now and write down everything you have scheduled. As much as I like to think I can remember important events I usually forget when I find an invitation in my inbox. Just last week I got an invite to a Friendsgiving gathering with some old friends. I immediately said yes and then realized it is the same day as our annual Christmas parade here at the Jersey Shore. This is the biggest event of the year for us locals. Friends of mine usually have a big gathering after the parade with lots of yummy food and a huge fire to hang around. It’s great fun and something I never want to miss. I had to pass on the Friendsgiving.


That is what is going to start happening now that the year is coming to a close and the holidays are upon us. You have to figure out what is most important for you. Is it time with your family? Or do you want to hit every party your friends are having? There are the big holiday dinners but you know there will be a number of gatherings and parties leading up to the end of the year. There will be work events in the mix as well. Does your company have a big party every year? Or a potluck at the office? Make sure to keep track of those as well.


As I start pondering the events I want to attend I have to realize I can’t go to all of them. That is when my FOMO kicks in full force. I hate missing out. But as my social calendar fills up, I will have to limit myself. I actually love being in this position. I love that I have so many friends that I have to turn down invites. I have found, for myself, that the busier I am with social activities the happier I am. So, I’m not complaining. But I do have to miss out on some stuff.


Now is the time to get that social calendar in order. Take a little time to figure out what you have available and what is already booked. You can go on a first come, first serve basis or you can pick based on how much bang you will get for your social buck. You can pick one event that will have the most of your friends together. But don’t spread yourself too thin. This is the most wonderful time of the year, right??? Don’t wear yourself out. Schedule some of those quiet nights at home with a good book and a cup of hot cocoa. Date nights with your honey. And some time to just veg out in front of the t-v.


Oh, and don’t forget to book time for the decorating! It’s almost that time. Yes, I always jump the fun a little but I was shopping yesterday and it made me feel like I was already behind!


It’s taco Tuesday! Grab a taco and put a little thought into how you want to spend the next two months. Then schedule, schedule, schedule! Cheers to a fantastic wrap of 2019! Now, go make it your best day yet!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page