top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Happy or Satisfied?


Do you want to be happy or do you want to be satisfied? Is there a difference? YES! You can feel happy every single day and yet still not satisfied. What brings you satisfaction is…living your purpose? Whatever that may be for you.


The first time I lived at the Jersey Shore full time I had a full life. I had a job that I loved co-hosting a morning show at an area radio station. I great group of friends at work that I spent a lot of time with. I also had a great group of friends in my neighborhood that I went out with all the time. It was probably the most fun I ever had in my life. In fact, I have been trying to get back to that place ever since I left. I moved back to the area, reconnected with old friends, connected with new ones and got involved in my community. Now, I can finally say that this, right now, is the time of my life. I will tell you the difference.


When I lived at the Jersey Shore in my mid 30’s I was still young, in great shape and could thrive on very little sleep. But I was very marriage obsessed at the time. I had a blast with my friends. We were out all the time. Taking on adventures all the time. But even though I was happy and having all this fun I still felt like something was missing. I didn’t feel complete without a husband. It would take me awhile longer to realize that I didn’t need that in my life to feel fulfilled but once I did finally come to that conclusion, I started dating the love of my life. It’s crazy and annoying how that works but it is indeed what happened with me.


Once I got married, I thought I would have that feeling of being complete. Guess what? I still felt restless and like something was missing. I had that feeling for several years. Until just recently, in fact. I had finally gotten a job that I loved in radio again, we had bought our dream house at the shore, my marriage seemed stronger than ever. But it wasn’t until I lost my job and decided to go in another direction that I started to feel satisfied. Like I was living my life with purpose. That I was putting something out there was important. Something that people both wanted and needed in their life.


That purpose of course is “The Hopefulist”. I came with the idea while listening to the song “A million dreams” by Pink from the Greatest Showman soundtrack. The words of the song made me want to do more, be more. That is when I started the blog. Within weeks I lost yet another radio job and I knew I was tired of that happening, so I came up with the idea for the podcast. I’ve been at it for over six months now. As I’ve gone down this path, I’ve realized there is so much more to what I’m doing than I ever though. I’m working on a book. I’m thinking about coming out with a journal. I’m writing a speech so I can do speaking events. Do you know why? Because I want to be a millionaire, of course. Ha! I really do but more than that…honest to goodness, more than that, I want to spread my message. If you’ve been following me, you know what that is. I want to show pessimists that they can change.


It didn’t dawn on me all at once that I truly had changed my ways. That I was thinking differently than I used to. That I wasn’t the Debbie Downer I used to be. That I was happy? It was something I had been searching for my entire life. Was it here? Did I finally achieve it? I do believe I did. And I was such a pessimist that I know for a fact that if I can change my way of thinking, anyone can. And that is what I want to do. I want to tell each and every pessimist that wants to live a happier life how to do it. How I did it, but faster. That is my goal. That is my purpose. That is what still gets me out of bed at 4 am ever day when I could sleep as late as I want. It’s what has me searching for topics to discuss with you every day. It’s what pushes me to record podcast episodes even when I won’t be around so I won’t let you down. I want you to depend on me. I want you to trust me. I want to be there for you. Mostly, I want you to be happy too. I’ve been both happy and unhappy, so I know which way I prefer to live. It’s what spurs me to figure out how to do social media marketing. To learn the technical aspects I need in order to get you the best content I possibly can. It’s what keeps me going.


I have found my purpose. It is what makes my life worthwhile. It’s very exciting too because I am just beginning. I have so much to share and so many people I want to get my message to. I had mentioned last week that I am no longer afraid to die. It’s because I finally feel like what I am doing is what matters to me. Again, I don’t want to die. There is still a lot left I haven’t done. But I feel satisfied with my life. I feel more than happy. I feel content. Not bored. But confident in the knowledge that I am doing what I am meant to do.


What is your purpose? What means the most to you? Are you living it? Are you working toward it? Are you anywhere near it? Definitely put some thought into what you want most from this life. What do you want to be remembered for when you are gone? That will help you find the answer.


It’s “I wish it were cocktail Friday” Thursday. What can you do today that will help you live your true purpose? Now, go do it. And make today, your best day yet.


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page