top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

How do you want to be remembered?


Do you want to make this the best possible life you can? I’m guessing the answer to that is yes. You need to ask yourself where you want to be at the end of your life? Do you want to be doing what you are doing now? Do you want more then what you have now? Then, you need to start making a plan to get there. You’re not getting any younger. You need to figure this out and quick like.


What is it you really want? You know how you can answer that? Write a eulogy for your own funeral. I know it seems morbid and if you can’t bring yourself to do that then, what do you want people to say about you at your funeral? How do you want to be remembered? I think we all want to be considered kind, understanding, hard-working, loyal, a great parent and spouse. But are you living in a way to make those the things being said about you? If not, get on changing it.


How do you see yourself when you are in your 80’s and 90’s? Do you want to be living the high life, on easy street, living wherever you want with plenty of money? I do! That’s me…right here! How are you going to get there? Is it by doing what you’re doing now or do you need to make some changes? The older we get, the more we realize that our time is limited. We always think there is plenty of time but guess what? There isn’t. You have to start making moves now. The point is not to get safely to death. You want to live. Live every moment. Make the most moments you can and live them to the fullest.


So, do you want a lot of money before you retire? How are you going to get it? At the job you have now or is there something bigger out there for you? Look ahead just ten years from now? How do you want your life to look? How do you think it will look? Put some thought into this. It’s important! Are you moving toward where you want to be? If not, hop to it. It’s time to get your butt in gear. Does going back to school factor into your plans? Then get moving. Find a school, secure the loans, start moving in the right direction. Don’t worry about how long it will take. If it will take you four years or longer, who cares? Those years will pass anyway. Make them count. Make them working toward your lifelong dream.


Do you want to be remembered as someone who is kind but you don’t feel very kind right now? Is it because you are unhappy? That is something that very well may change once you are on the path to your dream life. Listen, I get it. It’s easy for me to sit here and tell you these things. But I’m doing things I’ve never done before. I’m putting all my faith into this business. I’m counting on the fact that it will grow and more people will jump on my bandwagon. I have to. This is my dream. I’m working hard everyday to make new inroads in this field. It’s hard work. But I’m happy to do it. I’m happy to do whatever it takes to get me where I want to go. I won’t settle for less. And neither should you.


Where do you want to be in ten years? What can you do right now to get you closer to that goal? The time to start is now. Live your life today in a way that your future self will thank you. Sit down and really think about what the next chapter is for you. Be completely selfish. Follow your interests…they will point you toward what you love and are good at. If it will take ten years to get to the point you are thinking…what are the steps you need to take now to start making it happen?


I believe you can do anything you set your mind to. I know this because that is how I live my life now. I didn’t always and thought all that rah-rah stuff was just babble. Nope, I was wrong. I hope you give this some serious thought. It’s worth your time and effort. I promise.


It’s taco Tuesday! Grab a healthy taco. Maybe a margarita! And go make today, your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page