top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Immerse yourself in what you love


Isn’t this the most gorgeous picture? I love it. I know I would drift off to sweet dreams every night in this room! I do know people who put Christmas trees in their bedrooms and this picture makes me want to do it! We had a skinny tree that we got rid of over the summer to make some room in our storage shed and now I’m so sorry. It would have been perfect for something like this. I think you know how much I love my Christmas tree and I have typically stick with a red theme since I love the color so much and it reminds me of the season. But I have other ideas too!


I’ve been wanting to a nautical type tree for a few years and I’m going to start working on it. We also have a tradition in our house where Joe gets me the current year Swarovski crystal ornament every year. He bought me one on our first Christmas together as a couple and I will have ten this year (if he gets me one!) I want to get a small tree to showcase just those ornaments one of these years. The only problem now is figuring out where to put all these trees!


The point I’m trying to get at is, if you love Christmas as much as I do then immerse yourself in it. Really do it up. Put up everything you have and go get some more. Griswold it up! Make it however you love it. Because this is the only time of year you get to enjoy it. That’s what makes it so special. Have traditions that your kids will always remember and pass on to their own families.


Go out for a good, old-fashioned car ride to see lights in the neighborhood. Stop to get some hot chocolate first though! Go into the city to see some of the decorated windows this time of year. Make a day out of it. I know they have trolley rides for the ultimate viewing in decorated house. It’s fun. I’ve done them before. Is there a breakfast with Santa in your town? Take the kids. Or if you don’t have little children, go anyway and watch other people’s kids. Is there anything better than watching the awe and excitement of children at Christmas time?


We have a Christmas parade every year in our town and I try to never miss it. It’s the same things every year but it doesn’t matter. I still love it every year. And since I live in a shore town, Santa arrives on a boat instead of a sleigh! Friends of ours usually have a party at their house after the parade so it’s a full day of fun. Something I look forward to every year. This is what it’s all about people! Live it up. Do anything and everything that will bring you joy. It’s really not that hard when you think about it.


What is something you look forward to every year? Is there a way to get more of that or similar things scheduled this year? Or how about a gorgeous decorated tree right in your bedroom? Go for it! The more sparkly and bright the better!


It’s already hump day! Give some thought to some of your favorite traditions and do more of them. Meanwhile, go make it your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page