top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Keep At It!


I have a confession to make. I’m being a total hypocrite this week. I’ve been telling you how you need to eat well and get moving and I’m not doing all of that. I am on a good, healthy eating kick right now. But I may or may not be working out as much as I am leading you to believe. Have you heard me complain about going to the gym lately? Do you know why? Because I haven’t been there! The last time I was there was two weeks ago. I skipped all of last week and still haven’t gotten my butt there this week. Here I am telling you to get moving and to lift those weights and I’m not even doing it myself! I’m ashamed and embarrassed! Here is the thing though…I’m certainly getting some physical activity in.


In the past I have usually taken summers off from the gym because I’m pretty active. I bike ride a lot and go out on the kayak. I’m playing pickle ball when I can and take the dog on more walks. I’ve also been helping my friend with her business on some weekends here and there. That is very labor intensive so I’m really working up a sweat when I do that. I would even let myself off the hook for the summer if it weren’t for the fact that I have come so far in my weight training. I can really see a difference in my arm muscles and leg muscles. They are getting bigger and more defined! So, what happens if I stop now? I lose it…all of it. And then would have to start over again when I pick it up in the fall. So, I need to get to the gym this week. And I promise to go today. I will get my workout in today and I want all of you to call me on it! Post on my page today asking if I went to the gym. I mean, hold me accountable…I need you right now!


When it comes to doing something that is important to you, you have to know and remind yourself of the reasons you are doing it. I started working out in January to get in better shape. But most specifically, to attempt to get rid of these bye bye arms. My arms are still swinging back and forth long after I stopped waving but I’m making progress. My trainer/friend says I’m going to have to kick things up a notch to get where I want to be in that respect. Like going to the gym five days a week. I’m not at that point yet. But just because I’m not exactly where I want to be doesn’t mean I haven’t made progress. I’m stronger, healthier and I can see a difference. And now, I don’t want to lose how much I have gained by stopping altogether. Like the quote says…I didn’t come this far to only come this far!


When you start a new fitness and nutrition routine you have to write down your reasons for wanting to make the change. The reasons can be as shallow and superficial as all get out. It doesn’t matter. This is what is important for YOU and that’s good enough. But when you are staring down a brownie….remember that reason. When you don’t feel like hitting the gym or going for a walk because you are tired….remember that reason. It’s what inspires you and to spurs you to continue on your path. Don’t ever give up. You are worth it! And I believe you can do it 100%-now get out there and kick some ass!


It’s a “I wish it were cocktail Friday, Thursday”. One more day to the weekend. Now, go make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page