top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Learn new things!


When was the last time you learned something new? As we continue on new beginnings week and the start of school it's a good time to ask if there is something you've been wanting to learn. Or is there something that you have just been interested in that you haven't made time for? Are you fascinated with history but haven't gotten to the library yet to take out some books on periods that peak your interest? Or would you like to start playing some word games, like crossword puzzles or trivia? I will let you in on a little secret. I am a words with friends freak. I love it. I have been playing for years and I am pretty good if I don't say so myself. In fact, there was some talk among a group of friends when it was still popular to not play me because I was so good. The funny thing is I had never even played scrabble before I started playing WWF. I just heard about it and wanted to see what it was all about. I still play with a small group that are diehards like myself. It's fun and I think it helps keep my brain sharp. I hope anyway. But if I wouldn't have tried it I wouldn't still be enjoying it five or so years later.


Is your dream to travel to foreign countries at some point? Have you considered learning the language? Learning a new language can be very difficult and lengthy so it's never too early to start. Or is there some sort of activity you've always longed to do? Surf? Learning to ski? That season is coming up yet you still have time to get to the beach to surf as well. And you can always get a wet suit when it gets colder. How about taking karate lessons? Or try spinning, yoga or weight lifting?


Are you crafty? Do you like to create things? Do you want to learn to crochet or knit? Or do you like to scrapbook? I used to take used wine bottles and decorate them. It was fun for awhile but I lost interest in it but I still have some pretty cool collections that I put out for different seasons. Do you like to decorate? Offer to help your friends who may be decor challenged. These types of projects are good for you and may lead you to a new passion.


I hope you are always open to learning new things though no matter how old you are? That is what life is all about. Discovery and doing things that you love. You won't know how you feel about something until you try it. Or research it. Or commit to it. Just give it a go. You don't have to continue if you don't like it but you won't know until you try! So go do it! Whatever it is for you.


It's already hump day. Go have a great Wednesday and put some thought into a new interest. And make today....your best day yet.


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page