top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Long Term Happiness


I posted an article on the group page about how instant gratification doesn’t lead to lasting happiness. I think we all know that on some level. We all get caught up in the moment. We want to enjoy life, right now. And we are hardwired biologically to do seek instant gratification due to the evolution. It’s a survival instinct. We do want to enjoy our lives as much as possible but we have to think about our future somewhat. Enjoy the moment…yes, but what will bring you long lasting happiness?


It comes down to making choices about what’s most important to you. Do you want to lose weight or do you want to devour that brownie? I hate to use the term willpower because there have been times in my life I have had willpower of steel and other times that I couldn’t find it if it slapped it in my face. My guess is the level of willpower you have coincides with how you are feeling about yourself and how satisfied you are with your life. But like I was talking about earlier this week, if brownies are your absolute favorite than maybe a bite will be okay. But if it’s only like your fourth favorite dessert…skip it. Don’t blow all your healthy eating for something that isn’t worth it. Look for instant gratification in another direction. Smelling a flower, checking out the sunset, talking to a friend, listening to the new Taylor Swift album. Oh, maybe that is just me. But really, you should check it out. It is excellent! I think it is her best one yet.


But we all go through periods where we fall for the lure of instant gratification. In fact, right now I’m sitting on the porch writing this (and listening to Tay-Tay) and it is beautiful out. I’m tempted to just bag this whole blog right now and go sit in the sun with a good book. But I’m not. I’m going to finish this so it’s ready for everyone tomorrow and then I will reward myself with some leisure time. Even though this is what I love to do and I can’t wait to get my message out to you everyday there are still times I would rather sit around and do whatever I want without deadlines. BUT that won’t get me to where I want to go. That won’t help grow my brand and get the word out about “The Hopefulist”. So, I’m going to finish this first.


It’s the same with any goal. Get some work done now and let in a little play time. Going back to the healthy eating, you can give in now to your sweet tooth or wait. In my opinion, you should at least be giving yourself one treat meal a week. So, save it for then. I give myself a whole day usually which is why I haven’t been doing great this summer but I’m happy with how long it will take. As long as I am making progress. And I am. Like I said, make a choice. Is it more important for you to keep on track no matter what or would you rather be a little lax but know it will take a little longer to get there? Any scenario is okay as long as you are okay with it.


Go read the article I posted yesterday about instant gratification. Hopefully it helps give you tips where you may need a little boost. But after that…it’s Cocktail Friday! Get ready to grab that cold, adult beverage. Have a fantastic holiday weekend whatever you are doing and make sure to be safe! Now, go make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page