top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Loving your Life!



We see the quotes and messages all the time. Focus on the good in your life instead of the bad. Be thankful for what you have instead of longing for what you don’t. We usually brush things off and think, yeah…okay. It’s true! It works! You have to change your perception. Because like the quote says…your perception is your reality.


I know so many people who feel like victims of their circumstances. They focus on what they don’t have instead of what they do have. It’s a vicious cycle that is hard to break out of. This is why the gratitude journal is so important. Crappy stuff happens to all of us. Some people just choose to move on and do what they must in order to make their life better. Then there are those who just wallow in the fact that something bad happened and wonder why bad things always happen to them. Guess what? Bad things happen to everyone! Yes, everyone!


The area that I live in was hard hit by Superstorm Sandy. A lot of people lost everything when up to five feet of water swallowed up their homes. I have a friend that has an amazing house on the bay on Long Beach Island. Her house is raised at least 10 or 11 feet. When discussing the effects of Sandy one day she mentioned that she lost everything in the storm. I asked how could that be? Her house was raised higher than any flooding. She said she lost everything outside. Her patio furniture, hot tub, tiki bar. What??? Are you seriously complaining that you lost a hot tub and some wicker chairs when people literally lost everything they owned? This is also the same person who had a view of the most amazing sunsets I’ve ever seen but lives next door to a large building that is a bit of an eyesore. She mentioned one time to me and Joe how that building destroys her whole view. Joe said, just look left instead of to the right where the building is. It really is that simple. Some people just don’t want to be happy, I guess.


I’ve gone through some pretty crappy stuff in the past few months. But I no longer focus on the negative. It’s not that I don’t think about it or feel like what’s happened to me is fair. I just don’t focus on it. They are fleeting thoughts because I focus on how far I’ve come; how much I have and all that I have to look forward to.


Again, the process is simple. Not necessarily easy but anything worthwhile takes work, right? I bring up the gratitude journal again as the fastest and easiest way to start appreciating what you have instead of concentrating on what you don’t. I told you to take a break from that this week to focus on what you love about yourself. Is it possible you could do both? Keep track of the five things you are grateful for each day AND come up with three things you like about yourself? You don’t have to do both, but you will get to where you want to go faster if you put in the extra work. Think of it as extra credit to get that “A” in happiness class. It’s completely up to you though.


It’s a taco Tuesday! Go grab a taco and make it your best day yet!




Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page