top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Make those memories!


This picture was taken a year ago when we went out to celebrate my friend Jenn’s birthday. The plan was to go for a drink or two and then head home. We ended up being the last people there. One of those nights when you are feeling tired and not really up to doing anything but force yourself to which ends in a super fun night. A year later we were celebrating Jenn again at a party for a milestone birthday which I posted some pictures from over the weekend. A costume party that I didn’t partake in. Well, I sort of did. I wore a shirt that says “I’m hilarious” on it. I figured if anyone asked me what I was, I would say…I’m hilarious! Ha! I really do crack myself up. Nobody asked what I was though.


We got to see a bunch of people we haven’t seen in a really long time and it was a really fun night. Before the party my neighbor took Joe and I for a boat ride. The last one of the season before his boat comes out of the water next week. Summer is really over. But there are lots of great things to come. Halloween is this week. After that, bring on Christmas! Yes, I know Thanksgiving is next and I’m not trying to take anything away from the turkey. But really, does it matter if you decorate for Christmas before Thanksgiving? I can enjoy my turkey dinner even more next to my Christmas tree!


On Sunday we went to meet a friend to the Hopefulist for a little football action. We found a great place to watch the games. Not only was it fun, the food delicious and door prizes…it was relatively inexpensive too! The place was packed while the Eagles won, and the Giants lost. We met up with my friend and number one fan, Diane! Another huge Eagles fan. It was so nice to see her and spend some time with her and her husband. And the Eagles win was a bonus!


From the game we went to a friend’s house who was having a gathering for their birthday. We hung out there for a while and met some new people while seeing some old faces at the same time. Overall it was a fantastic weekend. One that I will remember with a smile for a long time.


There are definitely times when you want to just sit at home in your jammies and binge watch t-v all weekend. But try not to do that too often. I used to have a really hard time getting off the couch to go out and do things. Then I started telling myself that I wouldn’t likely remember a weekend of watching Lifetime movies but I would a gathering with friends. What really started getting me off the couch was when I realized I was watching other people live their lives while I sat on the couch. Looking at it that way made me realize that I didn’t want to be that person. I wanted to live my own great life. And I’ve never looked back. I do have my weekends when I don’t leave the house and that’s okay too. I try to save that for the dreary days of winter though. When it’s so cold you are content to stay snuggled under the covers for the whole day.


So, get out there and make some memories while the weather is still bearable. Make plans that will be so fun you will look back on it for years to come. Make the most of the moments of your life. It’s the only way to live.


It’s grateful Monday! My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Find those things to be grateful for and make some plans this week that you will always remember! It’s Halloween week….there are a million ways to do that this week! Now, go make it your best day yet!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page