top of page
  • Writer's pictureWendy McClure

Behaviors to adopt – Be complimentary

Updated: Jun 13, 2019

It’s Monday! Let’s get this week started off on the right foot. In contrast to last week when I talked about behaviors you should get rid of…this week I would like to talk about behaviors you should adopt. And the first one is to be complimentary to others.


Adopt some better behaviors to get your day going!

Have you ever had a stranger tell you how much they like your shoes? Doesn’t it make you feel so good? Pay it forward! Or be that person to start it. It’s so easy to do and can really make someone else’s day. And I believe that good will comes back to you. The more complimentary you are the more likely people will compliment you. Not only just as a return compliment but it will be out in the universe and you will start receiving more and more compliments, words of wisdom, encouragement…what have you.


When I was young my parents never told me they loved me. It’s not that I didn’t think they didn’t…they just never said the words. As my older brother and sister moved out of the house my mother would tell them she loved them every time they left from visiting or at the end a phone call. So, I knew she would start telling me that eventually but apparently I had to move out first. And that’s exactly how it went down. It seems odd thinking about it now but I didn’t give it much thought at the time. So, my point is I didn’t have someone in my life who lavished love on me. Who told me how important I was, great I was…or anything like that. UNTIL…I met my best girl Dina. I met Dina when I was about 20 when I transferred from working at one Friendly’s restaurant to another. She worked there and we hit it off right away. We started hanging out on a regular basis and spent a lot time with others at work in a group and on our own. Here’s how Dina changed my life forever and I will always be grateful to her for it. She told me everyday how much she loved me. She told me I was beautiful and a great person. She taught me how to open up and make myself vulnerable. I have often said I may have never apologized to anyone for anything in my life until Dina came along. She showed me it was okay to admit I was wrong and she would still love me. Everyone should have a Dina in their life. If you don’t….be Dina. Be the one to pump someone else up. Sometimes that makes us feel happier than when someone does it for us.


If while at a restaurant a manager asks how everything is…tell them if it was a good experience. Don’t say just “fine”. Tell them what you loved about the food and how good the service  was. Tell the server you thought they did a really good job and leave a big tip. I am a big tipper most of the time. I have been a server on and off for most of my life. I know how much a great big tip can change your whole day. I want to be the one to make that person’s day. If they deserve it.

Riding in an elevator? Tell that women you love her handbag. I bet she will beam with pride and she may even compliment you on something (although that is not why you should be giving compliments). Be genuine about it. Don’t make things up. I’m sure if you look at someone you are bound to find something you like.


When I’m out bike riding and I admire something specific about someone’s house I tell them if they happen to be outside. Nice flowers….beautiful landscaping….I love the stone used on the house. Whatever it may be. Tell them…they will love to hear it and it will make you feel good. And think of all those positive vibes you are sending out into the universe.

So get out there and start spreading the compliments. It’s Monday and a great way to start the week. Here’s the thing about giving compliments…it’s yet another way to force you to look for good things. The positive is all around for us…we just have to train ourselves to look for it. Once you do that for awhile it will become a way of life. And what a wonderful way of life!

Now go have your best week yet! Talk to you tomorrow!


Listen to my 7AM podcast for your Daily Dose of Inspiration and Positivity. Follow me on Facebook and Instagram for tomorrow's topics and where you can chime in too!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page