top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Never give up!


Practice makes perfect, right? It’s true. Just like the quote above says…it’s not what you do once in a while, it’s what you do regularly. Do you want to be happy in your life? Then, you need to practice it. Take into account all the things I have talked about this week. Decide to be happy. Figure out what it will take to make that happen for you. Then live your days in a way that will bring that about. Don’t get inside your own head too much and keep at it. It won’t be easy at first as it is with any type of change in your life. It will take some getting used to before it becomes a habit. The best time to start is…now.


Remember the story I told you earlier this week about going into work with an attitude that I wouldn’t let my partner get to me and he said something offensive and accusatory to me on the air during out very first break? It was like a smack in the face. But I had to keep trying. What was the other option? To allow him to keep annoying me and getting me down every day? He did do that a lot but I did what I could to minimize the impact on my daily life. Practice. Get the hang of it. Even feel sorry for people like that. People that are so miserable they aren’t happy unless they are making others miserable. What kind of life is that?


So, practice the things that you think will make your day better. Do your gratitude journal at the same time every day. Look at your surroundings and appreciate all that you have. Look in the mirror every morning and tell yourself it is going to be a great day and you won’t settle for anything else. The only way to make it a habit is to keep doing it. Maybe it won’t make that much of a difference to you at first, but I promise if you keep at it and be mindful of possible results you will get something out of it. You will feel better. You will live better. You will be better.


Stay curious. It’s the best way to discover new interests and to figure out what you really want out of your life. Do you already know what you want and are working toward it? Make sure you do something, at least one thing, every single day that will bring you closer to your goal. I’m working on a speech right now. Well, I’ve been thinking about a speech. I haven’t actually written it. Nope, scrap that. I have started it…twice. But I’ve scrapped them both. I keep finding new information on good speech making and starting over again. I think I have my main points and now just have to organize them and get them into interesting story form. But I’ve been putting it off a little. I’m doing a bit of self-sabotaging. Why? Because it’s still scary. Even to me. What if I put in all this time into writing a speech and it sucks? What if no one likes it? Even more, what if I can’t find anywhere to give it? Because once it is written then I really do have to start seeking out places to give it. In front of people! I’ve had more experience than most when it comes to public speaking but it still freaks me out.


So, I’m kicking myself in my own ass and getting into high gear. I think I should have a rough draft of a speech done by the end of today. I have to just do it. I can’t give up. I’m not willing to give up my dream so I’m going to have to do the hard stuff. The stuff I’m not comfortable with. Stuff that may seem pretty scary. You may feel that way about opening yourself up to bring more love into your life. Or giving people chances and the benefit of the doubt who end up abusing it. You have to keep trying. You must believe that you will rise above the negativity and find your way to a positive life.


Don’t give up. On your dream or yourself…ever. Remember the story I told you about my writing. I had interviewed with a local weekly paper in my hometown that apparently thought my writing was so bad the editor couldn’t even get back to me personally. But I later sent some articles to the op-ed section of the paper which is actually run by the owner of the paper and she has printed almost every one of the 10 or so articles I have sent her. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure…especially with something as subjective as writing style.


Don’t give up. No matter what it is you want. You have to find a way to get what you want because no one else cares as much as you do. You have to make yourself happy. You have to keep at it and at it until you figure it out. It took me a long time. I hope it doesn’t take you as long. That is why I do this every day. I want to help you on your path to happiness much quicker than mine took. It took me 40 years. But I never gave up. I wish it would have happened sooner but I’m just grateful it has happened. Better to finally live out my days as a happy person than continue to be the pessimist I always had been waiting for the bad news to come. Don’t do it. It’s not fun!


It is cocktail Friday, y’all! Hope you get to grab an adult beverage later today. Have one for me since it’s a dry month for me. I hope you have a fantastic weekend whatever you do and please be safe. Now, go make it your best day yet. Never give up on making the present day…your very best one yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page