top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

No More Excuses!


In the article I was talking about yesterday which can still be found on the group page is one woman who is the token Debbie downer of the group. In the midst of all these women telling their amazing stories of how they took a chance and changed their lives for the better is a woman hiding behind her excuses. She talks about how it’s easy for certain women in the article (Melinda Gates/Candace Bushnell) to change their lives because they have money and privilege. These ladies don’t have to worry about paying their bills and if they are socking away enough in their 401K’s. True, I get what she is saying but there were so many women in the article who did have all that to worry about and did it anyway.


I am a perfect example of someone who has huge financial concerns about this project I’m working on. I have no idea if “The Hopefulist” will become the household name I hope it will one day. But I have decided to go for it. Luckily my husband is behind me but I will have to start making money at it someday. And someday soon! We have bills. We just bought a house 2 and a half years ago by taking out a 30-year mortgage! We have all the same bills we’ve always had. I have lost the ability to contribute to my 401K. But I DECIDED it was now or never to go after my dream. My goal to inspire others to live their best lives. My goal to let everyone know that a pessimist can change their ways and become a happier, hopeful person.


And I have a long way to go. I have been doing some research and it seems that sponsors pay based on one thousand downloads. One thousand? I get about 30 to 50 per day and that is after a couple of days of availability. I have a couple episodes that have numbers is the 70’s which I’m ecstatic about but a thousand? Wow…that is a long way to go. But I love each and every download I get and the person listening because my message is getting through to them. They like what I am doing and want to come back for more! This is why I do this….the exact reason. So as of now it doesn’t matter the number of downloads are not in the thousands….I want to help! And I hope I am. But it is a long way to go to get to a point where I may possibly be paid. But I’m hanging in there and doing what I must do to spread my message, build my network and increase my social media following. You know why? Because this is my dream…this is my calling and I know deep down inside it will go the way I think it will. As long as I never let my excuses get the better of me and quit.


If you have been following me all along you know that I considered briefly in the beginning stages of my podcast of taking off Fridays. I ultimately decided against it because of the few messages I got telling me they couldn’t wait for the weekend to be over so they could get a new episode to listen to. I got a joking text from my sister on July 4th when I took the day off about how it would have been nice to listen to my podcast while she was enjoying a relaxing morning. All these responses and messages mean so much to me because it shows that I am getting through to those who want more inspiration and positivity in their lives. One of the 10 dreams I write down every morning is….I touch and inspire people every day with my words. Yes! That is what is happening. I am reaching you and I want to continue to do it. I came up with the daily dose of inspiration and positivity because I feel like I would have transitioned from a pessimist to a Hopefulist much faster if I practiced it everyday! I want to help as many people make the transition I did but much faster!


So yes, I have huge concerns when it comes to this project of mine. Will it be successful? Will I become as huge as I think I can be (and I don’t mean in pounds!), will we be able to pay our bills until that time comes? But I love what I’m doing everyday now. It literally lights me up to know some people can’t wait to hear what I have to say every day. It kind of amazes me too! But I want to make a difference in people’s lives and I feel this is the way for me personally, to do it.


So, get rid of your excuses and take the plunge. I know it’s easier said than done but once you figure out the process of doing what you want to do it is simple. Remember, simple but not easy. And the road may be a long one to get your where you want to go. So you better start now rather than later. Because you can do more! I know you can. So get going…go on! Plan, prepare, execute!


It’s taco Tuesday. So grab a taco and think about the steps you need to take to do what you really want to do in this thing we call life. I wish you good luck. And if you need some guidance…email me through the facebook page or at thehopefulist1@gmail.com. Now, go make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page