top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Oh, how far you've come!


What a difference a year can make! How much has changed for you this year? Is it something hugely obvious or have there been small adjustments that you need to reflect upon and examine? This is the time to do it.


The picture above is my new morning routine. I sit on the couch with the news on to see what stories I would like to include in this podcast. I have my best girl snuggling up next to me. I drink coffee and peruse the news on my iPad and go over notes I made the day before to get ready to broadcast to you. Compared to a year ago when it was a race once that alarm went off to get in the shower and out the door to get to work by 4:45 am. It was a completely different life. I didn’t hate it. I loved being on the radio and I loved most of the people I worked with. And I didn’t ask, not want to leave that job but it wasn’t up to me.


The most interesting part of the year for me was when I was driving to work one day and I heard the song “A million dreams” by Pink from the Greatest Showman Reimagined album. It just spoke to me. There was something about it that truly inspired me. It made me want to do more, to be more. That is when I decided to start a blog and I named it the Hopefulist. I found after many years of trying to change and become a happier person I truly felt that I had turned my thinking around to be more positive. My goal with this blog was to show others how I did it and I wanted to hopefully help people transform their lives like I did, only faster.


Within three weeks of starting this project I found myself without a job. I was let go without any warning and in my opinion, without any good reason. I was devastated. I have been let go of a lot of jobs in my time. It’s unfortunately the nature of my business. But this was by the far, the most shocking and the most brutal. I was shocked, outraged, confused but mostly I was heartbroken. I loved my job. In the past, this was something that would have had me sitting around feeling sorry for myself for weeks or even months. But I knew that I was different now. I no longer sit around playing the victim (or as much) and I knew I had to figure out my path forward.


Since I had already started the blog, I thought maybe a podcast would be something that could be combined with that. I worked with someone who has been in the podcast business for a few years and I gave him a call. He helped me with everything. And alas, here I am. I have a long road to go but I’ve come so far this year. And I’m so much happier. I love getting up and writing my blog and recording a podcast for you to listen to. I am so happy and grateful for each and every one of you who take the time to listen, read and comment on my social media pages. I want to help you live a better life. And please feel free to let me know if there is a way I can do that better for you personally.


What has changed for you this year? Has your life completely changed, like mine did? Or is more subtle changes? Or have you not noticed any changes? There is always a little change here and there so you just need to reflect a little bit to see what has changed over the last year. Has it been change for the better? Or have certain things gotten worse in your life? Has any of it been intentional or have things just seemed to happen? There is always a lesson in what happens to us (I believe, anyway) so try to look for the lesson. Or the higher purpose. Even if it isn’t something you didn’t want or aren’t happy about it may be setting you up for something better.


Take some time to see what some of these changes have been through the year. And as we start thinking about next year, what type of changes would you like to see for 2020? The goal is to be intentional about what you want. If you want to live your best life you must decide how that will look. Then you have to figure out how to get yourself there. What are the steps you need to take to move you toward that goal? These are things you must figure out and plan how you will get there. Yes, it takes some work. Yes, you will need some time to figure out a plan. But it will be worth it to get you where you want to go; your best life. Because you know what, you only get one. And I’m here to tell you…you are worth the work. So, get to it. Take the weekend to assess where you are now compared to a year ago and start thinking about where you want to be in another year. Next week we will be talking about how to get there.


It is cocktail Friday. It’s the freaking weekend already. Woo, hoo! Take a little time to examine how far you’ve come this year. I’m sure if you put some thought into it you will find that you are a long way from where you were one year ago. So, go have a weekend. I hope it’s fantastic and be safe in whatever you do. Now, go make it your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page