top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Push through your fear


Two days until Rise Business and you know that I am super psyched for this. I know this is going to be a life altering experience and I am going to share it all with you! You don’t need to buy a ticket, book a flight or get a hotel. No! I will do it all for you. And share all of the wisdom I learn. I will be doing live updates and posting tons of pictures. I hope to get you all as excited as I am!


I was watching a live stream of Rach and Dave yesterday who are hosting the conference. At the end they were telling people who were afraid to turn that energy into excitement. Rachel said she knew people from past conferences of hers that bought the ticket, booked the hotel and when the time came, fear overwhelmed them and they backed out. That makes me so sad. There is always a level of fear and nervousness when doing something new. But that is how you grow and learn and become a better version of yourself. That is what we all want, right? Are we trying to get safely to death? No, of course not. We want to live! Live to the fullest and that means doing things that are sometimes scary to us.


I’ve been lucky in the sense that I tackled this fear early on in life and just started doing things. The cool thing is those things I was afraid to do or things I had to do alone are the things that stick out in my memory more than most. I, like most people, didn’t like doing things by myself. But I was single until the ripe old age of 40 so it was either do things by myself or don’t do them at all. Some of my best memories are of the times I went off by myself and did something I’ve always wanted to do. I travelled to Boston myself for a weekend. I met some great people. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone into New York city by myself to do things I’ve always wanted to do. I’ve gone to numerous Broadway and to some of the most famous restaurants in the city. I’ve gone to television shows and have met some great people. I will warn you though, once you are going places by yourself you get used to the single price. Now that my husband comes along the price has doubled!!!!


The thing to remember about fear is that everyone has it. Some people are just better at pushing through it than others. Oh, how do you get better at it? I’m so glad you asked. You just do it. You feel the fear and do it anyway. I have to tell you, it is the greatest feeling when you do push through it. You will often laugh at yourself and say, what was I so worried about? So, not only do you get to do the thing you were afraid of but you are also building up your confidence by demonstrating how you can do anything! It’s a win all around.

So today, screw up that courage and do something that you are a tiny bit afraid of. And work from there. Do little things as often as you can so that when something really big and scary comes along you won’t feel as afraid and you’ll just do it. Yes, it is uncomfortable at first. But you get used to it and the end result is totally worth it.


So, get on out of the comfort zone and go flying into your death by the seat of your pants. I want the reaction when all of us are on our way to beyond this earth to be “Oh shit! Here she comes!” Doesn’t that sound like such fun?


It is Taco Tuesday so grab a taco and think about some things you have passed on in your life because you were afraid. Now, rethink them and make some plans. And go make this, your best day yet!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page