top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Rest when needed


I’ve been focusing on making this week the best of the year. Finish strong and go into your holiday break feeling proud and good about yourself. That was my plan. But now….I have found myself with a terrible cold. I have always been the type of person who powers through when sick because things still need to get done, right? But I’m not going to do that today. I feel terrible and the best thing I can do for my body is to help it recuperate.


I have almost never called out sick while in my radio career. The main reason being that I have always worked first thing in the morning and having to get coverage for me last minute was always tricky. So, I almost never called out. But was I really doing anyone any good? Especially in a radio station where we all talk into the same microphone! The world can live without you for one day.


Lucky for me I don’t have to leave the house to get my work done. But I have been gung-ho with getting some of my to-do’s done before the end of the year. But aside from getting this blog written I am not requiring myself to do anything else. Except I must get to the library to get a book I have on hold! Ugh! But everything else can wait. You still have time to get the holiday list taken care of so it’s more important you take care of yourself first.


I know how difficult this may be for some of you since you have kids and husbands and jobs and houses to take care of. But for a day when you are really sick, I want you to be completely selfish. Do what you absolutely have to but then rest. REST. You need it. You aren’t good to anyone if you can’t function at full capacity. You need to get your strength back so you can be your best self.


I’ll be honest, I’ve always looked down a little on people who call out sick and can’t power through. I’ve always been extremely driven and something like a cold was not going to stop me. I look at it differently now. We need to take care of ourselves first…before anything else. We are no good to others if we aren’t healthy. A cold may not be a big deal but when you are dealing with the aches, runny nose and coughing, it can really put a damper on your day.


I know all of this seems obvious but is it really? I’ve never really taken care of myself when sick (I think this is a woman thing, because you know that men act like they are dying when they sneeze!) But now I’m realizing how important is to take care of you. You need to do what will make you feel better. Lot’s of liquids. Hot tea, hot soup and this is a time when I actually crave orange juice. I eliminated it from my diet years ago but I love a nice glass of juice when I am sick.


So, the next time you are sick, give yourself a day. A day to lay in bed and do nothing but get better. Nap, read, watch t-v. It actually sounds lovely. So lovely that I’m going to go get started on that right now!


It is hump day already and I hope it’s a healthy one for you! Remember that you can’t operate as your best self if you are under the weather. Rest when needed. It’s just as important as everything else. Now, go make it your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page