top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

The glory of being on Your path


The absolute best part of being on my current path is that I know 100% it is the right choice for me. I never doubt what I am doing. I do worry sometimes if I am doing it effectively. I do worry if I am getting my message across. I do worry that I won’t keep people engaged. But I never question what my message is and sharing it with as many people as possible every day.


This is a very different experience for me. I have always been an advice seeker. I have been very indecisive in the past. I needed people to validate my choices because I was so unsure of them. That is no longer the case. Once I truly knew what I wanted there was no decision except the one I wanted. It didn’t matter to me who disapproved or warned me against my plan. I wanted to move to the Jersey Shore full time. I knew that is where I was happiest and where I thrived. My husband was on board and we made the move. I have never regretted that decision. In fact, I am grateful and appreciative of it every day. I love where I live. I love my house. I love my neighbors. I love my life.


It’s the same with the start of this business. It started with a couple of blog posts and then I lost my job. I wanted to figure out a way to stop losing my job for reasons that had nothing to do with me. That meant being my own boss. So, what did I already know what to do in order to work for myself? Well, my 25-year broadcasting career led me to my current podcast. I love the message I spread every day. I love talking to you every day. I love trying to help you live a better life.


There are times I worry about how the money is going to start rolling in. I do have a mortgage that needs to be paid every month. But this I know for sure…this will work. It may take more time than I hope. It may take some adjustments. It will more than likely take me learning about things I’m not familiar with in order to grow the business. But I know, deep down, that this is what I’m supposed to be doing. And not only don’t I need anyone to validate that for me. I don’t even care if people don’t believe in it. I believe in it enough for everyone. I know this will be a success. And getting up every day with a purpose that you believe in more than anything is the best way to live.


I’ve said before that it will take work to get your life where you want it to be. I am doing all kinds of things I haven’t had to do before. I’m having to learn things that I’m not necessarily comfortable with. But I will stretch my comfort zone because I will do whatever it takes to get this business where I want it to go. So, is it still work? Yes. Is it still scary? Yes. Is it constantly pumping myself up and pushing myself to do things I have never done before? Yes. Is it worth it? Yes, yes, yes.


And it only feels like work until you get used to it. Then it just becomes a habit. It gets easier the more you do it. But I can’t tell you how awesome it is to not feel the need for constant back up. For constant reassurance that I am doing the right thing. I don’t need anyone’s approval in order to keep doing what I’m doing. Don’t get me wrong. I love hearing that people like what I’m doing. I love when people tell me they love the message I’m sending. Mostly, I love when people tell me I’m making a difference in their life. Because that is the reason I am doing this. I want to help. I want to take my mistakes and my laziness and show you a better way. Because I have found that living your true purpose is the only way to live. Is it always easy? No way. But it’s always worth it.


It’s “I wish it were Cocktail Friday” Thursday. Think about what you want people to remember you for when you are gone. Then get to work on making that happen. And make today, your best day yet!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page