top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

The Power of Visualization


I remember reading an article long ago about one of my favorite actresses. I think it was Reese Witherspoon and how she used the power of visualization before she got hired for a job. She would picture herself at the reading. She would picture how well she did, the looks on the producers faces, the feedback she would get. She would visualize getting the call telling her that she had gotten the part. There’s also the story of Jim Carey. Have you heard how he wrote himself a check for 10 million dollars when he started acting and carried it around in his wallet? It was a great motivator for him and it worked. Within a few years he was making 10 million dollars a film.


I do this as well in my own way. On the last page of my gratitude journal (so it’s easily assessible) I have written how I see my life going soon. I describe how my business will grow and I will gain followers. I discuss how happy it will make me to be able to spread my message of inspiration and positivity to more and more people. I detail how we will live once more money starts coming in. And I read it every single day before I write down what I’m grateful for. It’s a good reminder of what my goals are, where I’m headed and how long it will take to get there. I put down timelines loosely. It would be great if I meet my deadline but not everything unfolds as quickly as you want so you can’t give up. My favorite phrase (okay, one of them) is I didn’t come this far to only come this far! I will always spread my message and hopefully help people live better lives.


The other thing I do that helps me visualize my awesome future is I write down 10 dreams everyday in a notebook as if they’ve already occurred. This is a tip from my girl Rachel Hollis. She says to do no more than 10 because that is enough to focus on at a time. You can adjust and change these as you see fit. But the important part is to write them down as if they are already happening or happened. For example, I write down everyday that I wrote a book. Uh, nope…not yet, but I will one day. And every time I write this down it reminds me that this is a goal on my high priority list. And by writing it as if it’s already happened it signals your brain to take the action to actually live like someone who has already achieved this. She explains it so much better than I but hopefully I got the process across to you somewhat. Just write down ten dreams everyday as if they’ve already happened. Don’t sass me!


The important part during all these exercises to include how excited and happy achieving these things will make you feel so you can bring the proper energy to it. The other important thing to do is to believe it. Yes, you have to believe it is possible. You have to believe it will happen. And if you don’t…it won’t work. It’s that simple. So, start writing down those dreams as if they have already happened and every single day you will convince yourself a little bit more that not only is it possible but probable. Because you will do whatever it takes to make it happen. It’s like your own little firing up session every day.


I know all of this sounds like work. Figuring out your 10 dreams initially may take a little time but isn’t that time worth being spent? The same as writing down how you want your future to look and unfold. This should be something you enjoy doing. You want to get excited and pumped about how awesome your future is going to be. Once you get all the initial stuff down on paper it literally takes me less than 10 minutes a day to write down my 10 dreams and fill out my gratitude journal. So I know you can do it. 10 minutes a day to a better live? Not even a better life, the life of your dreams! Sounds worth it to me.


It is hump day already! Write down the roadmap to your future today and start figuring out your top 10 dreams. And go make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page