top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Time to forgive


We are going to have to work on this one together because I am not a good forgiver. In fact, I’m quite the opposite, I’m a grudge holder but I’m working on it. I’ve been reading quite a bit on forgiveness lately and all the information says that you must really let go of the hurt, anger and pain before you can truly move on. Now, that sounds like a tall order, doesn’t it? Not only do you have to get past it but you have to forgive the person who hurt you. I’ve always been very resistant to this idea but I’m trying to embrace it. I’m trying to you stop holding grudges and move on with my life. Because there are certain things you can’t change and there is a time to let certain people go so you can go on with your life.


Like I said, I need some help in this area as well. But we can try to work on it together. I just finished reading “The Greatest You” by Trent Shelton. He talks about the power you get from forgiveness. He says when you forgive you offer the end of your anger and resentment to someone who has done you wrong. BUT you also get a lot in return. Such as the power of being freed from emotional burdens. It can literally feel like a weight is being lifted off your shoulders. In fact, when you feel anger toward someone it is a huge burden on your back and you carry that with you all the time. Even when you aren’t feeling angry it’s still there holding you back.


He goes on to say that when you forgive it gives you the power back to live your own life. Because when you don’t forgive there is something holding you back from truly living your life because of what happened to you. For example, maybe you’ve had a bad relationship in your life (haven’t we all?) If you are keeping a wall up with new dating partners or even worse, not dating at all because of the bad experience you went through. So, not only did this person hurt you once but you are allowing them to continue hurting you by not fully living your life. Doesn’t that seem sad? Doesn’t that sound like you give this person that isn’t even in your life anymore a lot of power over you and your life. You don’t want to do that, do you? Of course not!


We are going to spend some time this week figuring out how to let go of our hurt and getting past the situations that are holding us back. I know it’s a tough one. I agree. Hopefully we can figure out how to forgive those who have wronged us. I want you to start by thinking about some of the grudges you’ve been holding. Just sit and put some thought into how certain outcomes have affected you and if be honest if they still are. We will work on them this week.


Meanwhile, it’s Monday people. My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday! A brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities! Three weeks left in the year! Let’s finish strong y’all! Now, go make it your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


Kathy Fitzpatrick
09 dic 2019

This hit a home run for me ... I just can't seem to let go of some hurtful words said to me years ago ... it was from someone I loved and had spent years trying to please ... and today, although I work hard at letting it go ... it is always still there right below the surface! Your words today are urging me to give it another try .... for my own sake and happiness!!!! Thank you for the encouragement!

Me gusta
bottom of page