top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Why wait?


Do yourself a favor and take a little off your plate for the new year. We all tend to think we will start making improvements once the new year hits. We have a whole month to go in this year. Do you want to coast or do you want to make it the best Christmas/holiday season ever? I’m hoping you are going with the latter.


The Hopefulist is all about living a happier, more joyous life and this is our season! If you are anything like me, you love everything about the holidays. The decorations, the music, the gatherings, the time with family, the food and of course, the presents!


If you are still on the fence about doing all the things I urge you to do everyday (which I hope isn’t the case but hey, I’m realistic) try doing these few simple things to see if you enjoy the holidays more this year than years past. Do you love your decorations? Are they up? Put those bad boys up. Stare at them. And then stare at them some more. I have my tree lights on a timer but I rarely have it set on timer mode. Because I love my tree and it looks best when it’s all lit up. I keep it lit all night so it’s the first thing I see when I stumble down the hallway in the morning. It makes me happy. It starts my day off right!


I have been laughing with my girl Rachel Hollis because she posted a video the other day of her getting out her holiday mug collection. She even laughs at herself saying “Why does this make me so happy?” Hey, you do you girl! Is there something like that you can indulge in? Do you have Christmas socks? I always forget about them every year but not this year! I’m wearing them for the next month! I have different ones. I’m not wearing the same pair of socks for the next month…that would be gross.


Do you love the tastes of the season? Have you had a peppermint mocha from Starbucks yet? How about some eggnog? Peppermint shake at Chick-Fil-A? Are you looking forward to baking your favorite cookies? What is something you can use/indulge in every day for the rest of the season? Whatever it is, here is what I want you to do. I want you to love the crap out of whatever it is. Love a coffee mug…look at it longingly every time you use it. Yes, I’m serious. Smile when you see it. Hold it with love. Savor the flavors coming out of it. Sound silly? It does, doesn’t it. It also makes the experience so much more enjoyable so it’s up to you!


The gatherings are already happening as well! I’ve been to a Dirty Santa party and we had an absolute blast. I have so many parties and events coming up this season and I can’t wait. There will be great times with friends, good food and drinks and presents! I have stocked up on theme outfits too. It’s going to be the best month and I’m going in with as much enthusiasm as a 1st grader on Christmas Eve. You know why? Because it’s way more fun that way! Christmas has always been my most favorite time of year and the goofier I get the more fun it becomes. I encourage you to come to the goofy side with me. You will never go back!


So, take this time to test how my methods work for your holiday season. If I’m right about this, I’m probably (not probably) right about how you can enjoy all the moments of your life. Give it a go even if you feel silly. Who cares! Just enjoy yourself without worrying about what other people think. Because it’s none of their business and their opinion is none of yours!


It’s taco Tuesday peeps! Grab a taco and think figure out something you will use every day this holiday season that you will love with your whole heart. See how your outlook starts to change. It’s officially the holidays…yay! Now, go make it your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page