top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Yes, you can overcome


You are more than what has happened to you. Let that really resonate for a minute. No matter what has happened in the past or what is going on right now, you can change the ending to that story. In fact, that is the only thing you have power over at this point…how you respond to the things that have happened to you.


Part of my transition away from pessimism was the realization that everyone has bad stuff happen in their lives. When I was a Debbie Downer, I was convinced that I just had bad luck. That I had to endure more than most. That everything bad always happened to me and not others. Now I realize…that is so not true. It may have felt that way because I tended to wallow in my misfortune. Now I know that everyone has times in their life that are challenging. It is all in the way you respond to your circumstances. Even if you’ve truly had the short end of the stick. Even if you really had to endure more than most, you can still be the happiest version of yourself possible.


This has been a tough time in my life although I don’t think I let that be known. I hope not anyway. I’m very honest about my circumstances but I know that I can’t let them get me down. I can’t let anything dictate my life and how I want it to go other than me. I’m still stinging from the loss of my job that I feel, in my opinion, was very unfair to me. At the same time, I’m finding out that my mother left me out of her final wishes because I’m sure (yes, sure) she wanted to send me a message that I wasn’t good enough. Message received. I try not to let these things get me down but honestly, they do. But I get up everyday and try to spread my message of inspiration and positivity because I need to hear as well. If I just sit around feeling sorry for myself, I let both of those situations get the better of me. I don’t want to let them win. And I won’t. I will proceed with my life in the most satisfying way possible. So, take that!


Always remember that it’s not your circumstances that dictate your life and how it unfolds. You are always in charge of how you live your life. You can be sad, depressed and not have much fun. Or you can work past your issues and have the best life you possibly can. Did you have a trauma in your childhood? Or even more recently? You can overcome it. You can look forward instead of back. You can take the time you need to heal, then forge ahead with your head held high. They say if you can forgive that is the best possible scenario. I imagine that is true. I’m not that evolved though. I can’t imagine that I will ever forgive my mother for wanting her final message to me to one of revenge and trying to make me feel bad about myself. I won’t let it affect my daily life or my happiness but I don’t know if I will ever get to a place where I will forgive her for wanting that to be my final memory of her.


None of this is easy. I’m not trying to say that by any means. But it all starts with looking forward instead of back. That’s why they say it’s so important to have goals. It keeps you looking forward. And to truly change your way of thinking you have to be grateful for the things you already have in your life. I used to think this wasn’t possible…but you know what, it is! I’m going to talk more about gratitude journaling tomorrow and how you can get started on one easily. The more you do it the easier it is to find things to be grateful for and it will set you up to look for the positive throughout the day instead of the negative.


It’s Monday people! My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday because of all the possibilities and opportunities ahead of us. Let’s make it a great week. So, look for the positive today instead of focusing on the negative. And make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page