top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

You can (and should) love your body


As we continue with perception week, this is a big one. I know how hard it is to love your body. I know how difficult it is to look in the mirror and hate what you see. One thing to keep in mind is that we always want to look better no matter how great we look. We see body so differently than other people do.


I had some girls I went to high school with at my house a few weekends ago and we looked at some old pictures from that time. One was of all of us in our bikini’s. We ALL thought we were fat back then. Every single one of us. And we ALL wish we were as fat as we were back then. Meanwhile, I have been a little down on my body as of late because I’m struggling with the number I want to see on the scale. Both of my girlfriends told me I look great and reminded me of the conversation we just had about wishing we were as fat as we think we are. I didn’t think about it from that perspective now though. But they are right. I could put on another 20 or 30 pounds. Then I really would miss the body I’m in right now.


This is why I am asking you to focus on things you love about your body this week (along with personality traits). There must be some parts of you that you are okay with. As I have mentioned this week on the podcast; I like my shoulders and collarbone area. Some of my friends have mentioned their envy that you can still see my collar bone. I’ve also been working out since January and I have more well-defined arms and legs. When I get up from a chair now I see that amazing line along the inside my thigh that highlights the muscle I have built there. My arms are more toned and you can actually see the muscle. I still have the bye-bye arms which is what I want gone most but as I continue to work on that I’m going to look at all parts that have seen results.


I have alluded to the fact that I am having a hard time getting my butt to the gym lately and I need to do something to change that. I didn’t come this far only to come this far! And I certainly don’t want to lose all progress I’ve made in muscle building and toning. I am currently reading a book about building good habits and in it you are advised to make habits you want to create a decision. Meaning, that once you decide to do something there is no back and forth about whether you are going to do it or not. You decide that you will brush your teeth as soon as get up in the morning and it becomes a habit. You decide to shower before heading to work everyday so you do it. It’s the same with exercise. I have now “decided” based on this book that I am going to go as soon as I get up in the morning. I will have one cup of coffee and then out the door I go. I will do this everyday of the week except Monday (because I usually don’t write my blog until Monday mornings and the day before the rest of the week). There will be no more…oh, I don’t feel like going to the gym today. I will just get up and go. I will keep you posted!


Also, while at the gym I marvel at what I (my body) can do. When I first started hitting the gym in January the weights I used were typically the 8 pound dumb bells. I used to look longingly at the other ladies who could handle the heavier weight. Guess what??? I’m now doing whole sets with 15 pound dumb bells. It feels great! I love what my body can do and how much more it is capable of. I try to remind myself while at the gym that I’m so lucky my body can do everything I am asking it to and I hope it will continue to for a very long time. This is why it’s so important to me to keep at it. So, I can be strong and healthy for as long as possible. And the energy it brings! Embrace and love your body. It’s the most amazing thing you will ever own! Now, treat it will a little respect.


Get a little physical activity in today. It will make you feel great. You will have more energy and a great feeling of accomplishment once you complete your selected task.


It is hump day. We are halfway there. Now, go make it your best day yet!



Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page