top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

You Do YOU!


A sad fact that you have to accept at some point is that not everybody is going to like you. I don’t know how that is possible either. I always think to myself…I’m a fantastic friend. I am loyal and dedicated, a good listener, and do whatever I can to make my friends feel special. Not to mention, I am a hoot and pretty darn delightful as well. Who couldn’t love all that? But alas, there are some weirdo’s who don’t want to spend time with me. You know what? That is okay. They are the one missing out on all my fabulousness!


It’s hard to accept at times but don’t ever and I mean EVER beg anyone to be in your life. If someone doesn’t want to spend time with you then there are five others who do. There are people at times that we want to hang out with. We think they are really cool and you think….okay, we could totally be besties. But you reach out and get denied. You reach out and get denied again. Then just move on. There is obviously something going on and this person doesn’t really want to hang with you. Just stop asking. You can leave it at that. If they do reach out at some point, then get together. But don’t keep badgering people to be your friend. That is so sad!


Have you had a situation where a good friend of yours has dropped you like a hot potato? Yeah, me too. It hurts. I’m not going to lie. I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out what has happened when it comes to certain relationships in my life. I had a friend who I was really close to at one point when she suddenly started putting distance between us. At first, I was hurt, then I got mad and stopped reaching out to her. So, we didn’t talk at all. Then I missed her and reached out to ask what the problem was (what I should have done to begin with) asking why we haven’t been talking or gotten together in a while. She responded with that she has just been busy the last few weeks. Okay, this had been going on for about 6 months so at that point I just decided to drop it. I hear from her occasionally and that is how it is at now. I wracked my brain for months trying to figure out what the hell happened….but you know what? It was a waste of my time and I never came up with any answers. Sometimes you will never get an answer. You have to find a way to be okay with that.


If you know you are a good person and you like who you are then that is enough. We always seem to concentrate on the bad over the good in our lives. We could have 72 friends but we get stuck focusing on that one person who doesn’t want to hang out with us. It’s time to move on! Embrace those that love you and be who you are to your core. Because you are wonderful just the way you are. In fact, I would even say that you are a BADASSS. But that’s just what I think. Now, go out there and be your badass self all damn day today.

It’s Taco Tuesday. Grab a taco. Be grateful for the friends you have and stop worrying about those who aren’t or don’t want to be. It just doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of your life. Now, go make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page