top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Time to get uncomfortable


It's time to wade into the deep in. It's time to get a little uncomfortable in order to make our lives what they are truly meant to be. Time to conquer that fear. If I can do it.....I know you can too. Because you are a BADASS!


I'm going to focus on getting out of your comfort zone this week. I always hated all those sayings about how you needed to challenge yourself and do things you've never done before in order to live your best life. I'm almost 50. I paid a lot of dues in my field of work and I don't think it's unreasonable to want to coast from here on out. This is what we've all been working toward, right? The time when we can just relax and take it easy. Nope! That's great if you are truly happy with where you are and you have already achieved all your dreams and goals. But really, there is always another goal we should be working toward no matter where we are in life. I had read an article not too long ago about how working toward a goal is where most of our happiness comes from. Even more than the achievement of said goal.


I can only tell you what happened in my case. Which was a desire to start writing. I've always thought maybe I could write a book some day. But I didn't think I was going to wake up and just write the next great American novel. These things happen in steps. So I started writing some articles for my local weekly paper. Luckily they like most of what I send them and print them. Then I started doing band reviews for another publication. Then one day on the way to work I heard the song "A Million Dreams" by Pink and it inspired me to start this blog. Which then led to the podcast. This has been all new territory for me and it has been scary at times. It still is. But it's also exciting and is making me realize I am capable of so much more than I gave myself credit for.


The bad news unfortunately is that it will be uncomfortable at times. In fact, it will downright scary and your fear will tell you to run far away because that is the easy way. But know this....just because you are scared doesn't mean that you shouldn't move forward. You will be scared. You don't know what you're doing because you've never done it before. That's normal and natural. You have to move past your fear. You have to do it anyway. Sharking in your boots and moving forward as best you know how. There is nothing better than doing something that scares the heck out of you and realizing it wasn't nearly as bad as you thought. You can do this...because you are a badass!


I will be talking more about this all week. Stay tuned. But getting ready to be a little uncomfortable. It's part of the package. Sorry....you will have to get a little scared and do things you haven't done before. But trust me...it will be so worth it!


It's Monday! My favorite day of the week after Friday, Saturday and Sunday! A brand new week full of possibilities. Now go out there and kick some ass! And make it your best day yet!


Listen to me discuss this on my daily podcast available daily at 7 am. All available at Hopefulist.com.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page